Congratulations to all of the Student Employees who participated in the 2007 SEOTY

Four new finalists and winners have been announced at the 22 nd Annual Student Employee of the Year Awards Ceremony. This year we were pleased to also have Mānoa Interim Chancellor Denise Konan attend our event and provide kōkua at the presentation of awards segment of the ceremony.

Our Overall winner is Phoebe Hwang from the Public Health Sciences she is also the 2007 State Student Employee of the Year and competed for the Regional SEOTY Award. Her name along with Ryland Watanabe from the International Programs department (A1-A3 Category Winner) will be placed on the President’s Trophy and is located in the lobby of the CDSE office in QLCSS 212. They each have been handsomely rewarded with cash scholarships.

History of SEOTY

This year marks the 22nd annual Student Employee of the Year (SEOTY) at University of Hawaii at Manoa. The idea for the SEOTY program was produced to acknowledge the outstanding student employees that work as well as represent the UH Manoa campus.

The Manoa campus currently employs over 3,000 students. A responsibility was needed to show these thousands of student employees how much their supervisors as well as the University appreciate their exceptional workmanship. In past years, the program expanded participation to include seven out of the ten campuses in the UH system.

Traditionally scheduled for the first Thursday of April, during National Student Employee Week, the annual celebration luncheon is an anticipated event for the UH community. Many participate in the festivities, treating their student employees to a fun-filled program and chances to win an array of prices. Our awards ceremony acknowledges all student employees for their outstanding achievements and contributions; the selected overall winner has the chance of being nominated for the regional national titles.

The student employee's of today are the leaders of tomorrow and we would like to continue the celebration of recognizing these outstanding individuals by paving their road to success.


The University of Hawai'i at Manoa along with the other participating schools in the UH System are a part of the Western Association of Student Employment Administrators (WASEA). The winner of the campus SEOTY moves on to the state level of competition and that winner will be nominated for the regional award with WASEA. WASEA is one of many organizations that make up the National Student Employment Association (NSEA) and at this level winners from each regional organization compete for the national title.

Past Winners:

Year Name Department
1986 Gary Lew Computing Center
1987 Cynthia Work Curriculum & Instruction
1988 Wayland Kwock School of Nursing
1989 Raine Asato School of Law
1990 Geraldine Amparo* Theater and Dance
1991 Jayne Bopp* Office for Non-Traditional Students
1992 Shelly Koyanagi Continuing Education & Community Services
1993 Diane Lim* College of Business Admin. Marketing
1994 Jeffery Yee Geology & Geophysics
1995 Teresa Lui*** Center for Biological Research
1996 Grace Cheng Office for International Affairs
1997 Janet Kwak Geology & Geophysics
1998 Lisa Hang Laboratory Animal Services
1999 Dori Ann Oniwa Office of International Affairs
2000 Mark Yap* CRDG Evaluation Office
2001 Didier Fusero* William S. Richardson School of Law Library
2002 Raymond Ku Disbursing Mailroom
2003 Sean Ibara** Student Employment & Cooperative Education
2004 Aldrich Ricalde College of Arts & Sciences Student Academic Services
2005 Tracy Nishihara SOEST Fiscal
2006 Jodie Tatafu* College of Arts & Sciences, Student Academic Services
     *   -- State Winner
   **  -- Regional Winner
***  --   National Winner


Important Dates:

Nov. 17, 2006 --
Kick-Off Day; Nomination Forms Go Online

Jan. 8, 2007 --
Reservation Forms Go Online

Feb. 8, 2007 --
Nomination Form Deadline

March 22, 2007 --
Reservation Deadline (Form & Money)

March 23, 2007 --
Last day for refunds

April 11, 2007 --
Student Employee of the Year Awards Ceremony


Myrtle Ching-Rappa, Director of Career Development and Student Employment
Phone: (808) 956-4399
Fax: (808) 956-8058

Kaipo Tam, SEOTY Student Coordinator
Phone: (808) 956-7007
Fax: (808) 956-8058

National Student Employment Association (NSEA):

Western Association of Student Employment Administrators (WASEA):